Ninety Nine

When my son was preparing for the end of his high school days and hedging on whether to go on to college because “four years is a long time”, I told him to go ask his then 96 year old great-grandmother if she thought 4 years was a long time. When my then 75 year old father took a spill on his Harley and wound up in the hospital, the first words he spoke were, “don’t tell my mother”. Obviously, I had to, and with much trepidation, I said to my grandmother, “Gram, I have some bad news about Stan”. Her reply was, “is he in jail again?” That broke the ice and as she so often did, my grandmother made a difficult situation easier, and we actually had a laugh over it, despite its seriousness. Of course my father fully recovered, and is looking at new Harleys as I write this. His mother, my grandmother, Cora Spain, passed away on December 22 at the age of 99 years. So, this last month of the year was a bit sad for me but certainly there is some consolation in that she lived a long good life. I’m sure she is happy to be reunited with her husband, another Stanley Spain, who passed away in 2002 at the age of 96.

About stanleyramon

Amateur historian, blogger and masonic ambassador. View all posts by stanleyramon

One response to “Ninety Nine

  • KathyD

    Stan, I am just now catching up with your blog. I am sorry for your loss Your family sounds like they know how to live. And I LOVE your grandmother 😉

Leave a Reply

